Hokkaido

Hokkaido, perhaps the quintessential vacation spot for locals out on a break, and it’s no surprise why. This area boasts a ski resort for people into extreme sports, and for the foodies, Hokkaido has a lot of gastronomic offers such as their local milk, cheese, cheesecakes (must try!), a variety of soju, and their local beer. It is also a place for those who like to hunt in the backstreets for bargain and vintage finds. This prefecture has a lot to offer and has something for everyone.

One of my finds in this area was a vintage clothing store, selling all sorts of articles from the 1980’s to the 1990’s, and even vintage Ray-Bans which I adore. Somewhere along the way I also stumbled upon a vintage musical instrument store, finding a nice distressed Telecaster from the 1960’s inside, and just a few stores down, a cheese raclette place. That comes highly recommended from me.

I also suggest you travel to Otaru, the seaside town. It won’t disappoint you as I suggest you come there on an empty stomach. I swear by their local cheesecakes as it is fluffy, and perhaps the best cheesecakes I’ve ever tried in my life!

All in all, this place is something I’d love to revisit again in the future, and this time explore the seaside more often than staying within the city areas.

Leave a Reply

